Saturday, the Soroptimist International of Grand Prairie recognized nine high school and middle school girls in the Grand Prairie ISD for their outstanding character, community service and leadership. Each month the Soroptimist Club honors the winners with a certificate and at the end of the year one girl from each high school is chosen Girl of the Year and awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

November selections include:

Selena Vazquez - Grand Prairie High School
Tricia Sims - South Grand Prairie High School
Rebeccah Fleener - Dubiski Career High School
Bridget Botbyl - Adams Middle School
Claudia Castillo-Torres - YWLA Arnold Middle School
Ana Nava - Fannin Middle School
Yenifer Montoya - Jackson Middle School
Alyssa Ayala - Reagan Middle School
Amelia Wright - Truman Middle School

A special thank you to GP Reporter for the photo and covering this story.